One pot Tortellini and Sausage in Creamy Cheese Sauce

So, I was told by one of my kids that I never make dinner. Really?? Wait. Really?? How else do you eat? This remains a mystery. I digress.
I was looking for for an easy week night meal I could make super quick. It’s a little harder when you want to not cook after being told you “never” do! Breathe.
So, this one pot wonder fits the bill. Less than 30 minutes start to finish!! Not to mention very little leftover!

Ingredients:
1 lb turkey kielbasa (I used Hillshire Farm)
2 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup minced onion
20 oz. refrigerated or frozen cheese tortellini (I used frozen Louisa brand)
1 can 20 oz. stewed tomatoes (I used Del Monte original)
1 cup chicken broth (I used Swanson)
2 cups mild cheddar (grated)
2 Tbsp cream cheese (I used Philadelphia brand)
Salt and pepper to taste
Grated Parmesan to top

Recipe
Sauté minced onion in olive oil in large pan. Slice kielbasa into 1/4″ slices and place into pan. Add broth, tomatoes, tortellini, salt and pepper to pan. Bring to boil. Stir often so as not to stick. Reduce heat and simmer for about 15 minutes. Remove from heat and add cheese. Let alone to thicken for about five minutes. Add cheeses to top and serve hot.

20140114-192347.jpg

20140114-192358.jpg

Leave a Reply

